Not Just a NurseryCHILDMINDING

Previous Parents Comments

 

 Reference for Victoria Parkinson (Tor)

Tor was the first person we trusted to look after our one-year old daughter outside our home. Our
daughter had only just started to stand upright when she first went to Tor’s. Tor was so kind,
confident and clearly capable that we very quickly felt happy leaving our daughter with her for full
days at a time.
Tor has now been childminding our daughter at least two days a week for the past two years, plus
extra days and ad hoc babysitting.
Tor is reliable, experienced and caring in her approach. She knows our daughter as well as we do and
always thinks through what she needs and how she’s feeling. Tor has the patience to let her create,
paint and draw with abandon. She makes great use of the opportunities that local play groups offer.
Tor makes sure our daughter gets plenty of time outside playing in the park too. She has also taught
her to be street smart, to listen, to stop and to hold onto the buggy.
Over the last two years, Tor has helped our daughter gain confidence going to new places and
accepting help from new people. She has also taught her how to interact with other children and to
build friendships, which we really value.
Importantly, Tor has the consistency and attention to detail necessary to manage our daughter’s
multiple severe food allergies at home and at playgroups. This has been a massive weight off our
mind.
We feel exceptionally lucky that we met Tor and definitely recommend her.

December 2019

Tor has looked after my daughter for over a year now. She’s been fantastic the day we put our daughter in her hands of care. She’s extremely thoughtful, professional, caring and understanding. She’s always got full of ideas to help my daughter as she has sensory processing disorder and speech delay. I can’t think of any negatives to say. I don’t worry about my daughter when she’s in the hands of Tor. My daughter is always happy to go to Tor. Once quoted and repeated on every pick up and drop off from my daughter ‘E happy!’ Tor not just helps the physical needs of a child she helps their self esteem. My daughter is blossoming beautifully because of the care Tor provides. Highly recommend!

Tor has looked after our, now 18 month old, son for the past 9 months. He goes to her 3 days a week and absolutely loves her - he stretches out his arms to her when she opens the door in the morning! Tor is very professional, safety-conscious, practical and knowledgeable about childcare, but also firm-but-fair, fun and extremely caring with the children she looks after. She is Montessori trained, so the children do lots of different activities with her, both inside and outside, and she cooks well-balanced meals for them, taking care to observe food allergies/intolerances where necessary. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tor as a babysitter or childminder.

We employed Victoria Parkinson (Tor) for fourteen days, from Tuesday 16th of September until Friday 3rd of October 2014. We employed her fulltime, from 8am through 6pm, as holiday cover for our usual fulltime nanny. Her job included school drop-off and pick-up for two children (boy, aged 6 and girl aged 4) at different schools as well as full day care for our toddler (girl, aged 2). It also included managing different after school activities, a gym class for our four year old, swimming classes for the older two and daytime swim classes for our toddler. In the house, Tor was responsible for cooking dinner for all three children, preparing snacks for the school-aged children and lunch for our toddler.  It was a logistically challenging job, requiring a lot of initiative and a good memory! Tor was excellent at managing the times and juggling the requirements of two different schools in different areas with similar pick-up and drop-off times. She cooked healthy meals for the children that they enjoyed and maintained a variety of foods throughout the two and a half weeks she was with us.  Our house was always clean and tidy in the evenings when she left, she dealt well with the clothes washing, general tidying and need to keep the kitchen clean.  All three children really enjoyed having Tor with us, and bonded very well with her. She was imaginative and creative in the activities that she introduced to them, including homemade playdoh and other games.

 I would not hesitate to recommend Tor, and we expect to use her again if we have a need for urgent childcare again.

 

Victoria worked for us on a number of occasions as a temporary nanny. She is an independent, quick thinking self starter, who applies common sense to day to day events. Her approach to looking after children is outstanding. She is able to build trust and respect very quickly, and motivates children to fulfil their daily tasks effectively, with care and love.
She is ever so helpful when it comes to household chores, and takes initiatives and offers help. We were very happy with her looking after our two lively children, aged 6 and 5. In a very short period of time, she managed to leave a very positive impression on our family and would recommend her to anyone. “

 

Contact details by request